Viva Las Vegas! Sin City Vegan Challenge: Day Two

So, if you’re just joining me on this post and haven’t been following along… I’m visiting my best friend in Las Vegas and writing about eating vegan while on vacation. Here we go!

Yesterday, we went to the Hoover Dam. It’s was pretty impressive.

IMG_0450 IMG_0451

The only bad thing about going to see the Hoover Dam was not eating beforehand. Once you start eating a regular breakfast, it gets real weird when you skip it. (Read about the benefits of eating breakfast and how it helps you lose weight here.)

After (what seemed like) hours of driving and touring the damn dam, my friend took me to Skinny Fats. It’s an interesting concept, half of the menu is “live healthy” and the other half is “live happy.” Even though I think living healthy is living happy, that’s their shtick. IMG_0452 IMG_0453

I really liked the vibe of the place. It’s casual and very West Coast with a touch of hippie (but not too much hippie that things get hairy). I had the hot-mame (edamame with chili and garlic) and the portobello mushroom sandwich with sweet potato fries. (I asked the lady I was ordering from if the sweet potato fries had any cheese on them, and she said no. However, when I looked at what they brought out, I could have sworn I saw parmesan. I didn’t make a big deal out of it, but just check with them if you order their fries.) MY GRADE: B+

IMG_0454 IMG_0455

We had a great evening that started at the Chandelier Bar…

IMG_0456

… and ended in the fabulous drag-show extravaganza that is Divas Live!

Drag Madonna!

Drag Madonna!

Drag Lady Gaga!

Drag Lady Gaga!

There’s almost nothing I love more than a fierce tranny. Drag queens are my homegirls, and I was so happy to watch them kill it on stage.

Ok, back to food. For dinner, we went to Julian Serrano’s tapas place. They’re vegan friendly and will bring you a special vegan menu, if requested. My server said he had some great recommendations for me, so I just went with what he told me to get. I had the brava potatoes without the alioli and the pan tomate. Both were fine, but didn’t blow my socks off. It’s really frustrating when you’re getting the hang of vegetarian/vegan cooking and then you go out… a lot of times I think I could make it better (and I don’t consider myself a great cook.) MY GRADE: B+

IMG_0459

excellent service and interesting full menu… but the vegan fare is rather bland.

IMG_0457

pan tomate

IMG_0458

brava potatoes

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE tapas, and this place was a great time. I just wish these celebrity-chef restaurants would put some thought into at least two or three dishes that are specifically designed to be vegan and fabulous… not just a dish that they CAN make vegan that is without inspiration. I really was just eating bread, potatoes, and tomato paste. I even ordered some of the sautéed spinach to get some green in there, but I didn’t even finish that dish or think it deserved a picture.

Second day conclusion? Drag queens are fabulous.

Want seconds? Come back tomorrow for my third day of the Vegas Vegan Challenge! 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

