Why Tap Dancing is the Best Cardio EVER!

Let me reintroduce myself:

Hi. My name is Whitney, and I blog about not dieting because dieting totally sucks. Plus, it doesn’t work. (No, Really. It doesn’t work.) So yeah, my name is Whitney and I blog, but i’m also a dancer. More specifically, I’m a tap expert who worked for a Tony Award winning Broadway show.

tap dance

I’ve always danced. I’ve been a dancer since I was two years old (my mother lied to the local dance studio about my age and said I was three to get me enrolled.) I don’t know if I was too annoying to handle, or if I just had feet that never wanted to stay still… but into class I went at two years old, and I haven’t stopped since.

That’s 27 years of dancing. (Don’t tell anyone my age if you can do the math. I still tell everyone I’m 21.)

Tap was the most fun, super awesome thing I did as a little child. Come on, you know what I’m talking about! A lot of us took tap when we were young, made a TON of noise with our feet, then  stopped going to class for whatever reason. (Maybe we joined the cheerleading squad, or maybe we moved on to playing POGS.)

The great thing about tap is that it’s never too late to start again.

Ballet? Sorry. If you are female and didn’t mold your hips as a four-year-old, nope. It’s probably not in the works for you to be a prima ballerina. (Men can get away with it if they start around 18, those bastards!)

Tap? Hell yeah, there is no age limit to being an advanced bad-ass. Let’s do it!

I teach an adult beginner tap class to women in New York City. Most of the women took when they were 3-7 years old and then stopped. The class is always filled with the most fabulous ladies, and each class is a party.

The best thing about taking tap as an adult: It makes you feel like a kid again. Not an awkward kid. A carefree kid making a lot of noise and trying really hard to do something right because it’s fun (not because it’s stressful.)

The second-best thing about taking tap as an adult: It’s amazing cardio. You’ll burn around 300-400 calories an hour, depending on your weight and the effort put into class. That’s like running around and playing tag as a kid. You’re burning a lot of calories without thinking about the work.

I’m telling you… just try it! The worst thing that could happen is you have fun. The best thing that could happen is you feel awesomely accomplished.

If you want to try my REAL BEGINNER ADULT tap class in New York City, go to M Dance & Fitness and sign up on Monday nights at 7pm.

P.S. This post comes to you from a Delta airplane flying over the country. I’m going to Las Vegas, y’all! Check back with me tomorrow to read all about my Las Vegas Vegan Challenge! 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

