Final Day of the Memphis Vegan Challenge: Back to NYC

After a refreshing night’s stay at the Peabody Hotel in Memphis, TN (and by refreshing… I mean I survived a bachelorette party on Beale the previous evening), I suggested to my parents that we go to breakfast.

I really wanted to try one of the fabulous midtown vegan-friendly places like Cosmic Coconut or Imagine Vegan Cafe, but they didn’t quite seem like places my father would willingly agree to go. So, we ended up going to Perkins.

I had a plain salad with O&V… at ten AM. The quality of the lettuce was eeehh. However, it’s always really fun to hang out with my mom and dad.

We then decided to take Olivia, my dog, to Shelby Farms and play fetch.

Olivia waiting for dad to throw the ball.

Olivia waiting for dad to throw the ball. She is a fetch superstar.

After we exhausted my poor dog, I realized I hadn’t been out to the pool. I couldn’t spend a summer trip down South without jumping in the water, so that’s exactly what dad and I did.

IMG_0381

And this is where I saw the worst tattoo I’ve ever seen in my entire life.

IMG_0384

You’re welcome.

No, but… really. LOOK AT IT!

Yikes!

Yikes!

Moving on.

I packed my bags and headed for the airport, a few snacks in hand. I packed nuts and an apple, thinking they would totally hold me over for the trip. That was until my flight kept on getting delayed, and I arrived back home to NYC absolutely starving.

It was past midnight, but New York has airports that never sleep. I grabbed a vegan noodle meal from a snack shop in the Delta terminal. IMG_0383

Hey, it’s not ideal, but good-on-ya La Guardia airport for having a few vegan options out there for travelers. I quite enjoyed it.

So.. DRUMROLL PLEASE!…. What are my final conclusions from the Week-long Memphis Vegan Challenge?

It was fine.

It was relatively easy to do; it just took some thoughtfulness. I don’t want to just mindlessly eat things that I don’t know what’s in them, so I didn’t get too perturbed by the extra effort required.

It’s also nice not feeling like a slave to my stomach. With all the chemicals and strain my body went through eating meat, cheese, and additives, of course I’d have highs and lows. Of course I’d have an emotional connection to food. Of course I’d instantly become hungry and binge eat as soon as my insulin levels dropped. I had none of those feelings this week, and it was very freeing.

I have noticed not having dairy has significantly improved how I feel. I don’t think I can reasonably live without using some honey for natural sweetener or for cooking certain things. I’m not sure if I’m going to use eggs again or not. It’s been four days since I came back to NYC, and I’ve just not felt like having them. Who knows? I don’t, yet. I do know that I’d only ever use eggs that I’ve bought from the person who harvested them from their own healthy and happy chickens.

The strongest conclusion I’ve arrived at is that I’m sick of saying the word “vegan.” Even though it’s something that is noble and good and healthy, and I agree with some of it’s principles… I’m not comfortable with all that baggage that comes with it. Perhaps that’s selfish of me.

Maybe I’ll come up with my own term for my relationship with food like vegiculturist or herbivorian. Or maybe I’ll just live my life and see what happens.

I’ll let you know 🙂

Even gone vegan for a while? Ever thought about it? Leave a comment, and tell me all about it!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

