The Last Supper: Final Meal Before Memphis Vegan Challenge

This was it. My last hoorah. The terminal supper. My final meal before I take on the BBQ capital of the world for my one-week Memphis Vegan Challenge!

Shall I have pizza covered with cheese? Shall I wolf down a porterhouse steak? Shall I combine both cow and dairy for a greasy Philly Cheese Steak?

With much deliberation, I decided. The last meal I shall have before going vegan will be…vegan.

Y’all heard me.

I thought about having a final cheese blowout, but I concluded that would be getting away from the spirit of why I’m doing this challenge in the first place.

Instead of being a cheese monster, I went to the fabulous New York vegan restaurant Blossom and had a “pork” BBQ skewer and mushroom pizza bites with soy mozzarella, vegan versions of two items I anticipate missing most in Memphis (Corky’s pulled pork sandwich and Memphis Pizza Cafe ultimate cheese.)

Hey, I didn’t say I was going to go to a vegan restaurant for my last supper to eat grass and a steamed tree root.

Wish me luck! I officially begin my Vegan Memphis Challenge in a few hours.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

