My Memphis Vegan Challenge

This Tuesday, I’m puttin’ on my blue suede shoes and boarding a plane to Memphis, TN. The BBQ capital of the world. The dirty, dirty, yummy South. The fried Delta. Memfreako, TN.

And I’m going to be Vegan for the entire trip.

I hear people gasping in awe. I see heads dramatically turning, eyes wide with horror. Disbelief clouds the air like a thick fog hovering above the muddy banks of the Mississippi. Yeah. You heard me, boo. VEGAN in Memphis, the Fried-Meat-and-Cheese Mecca of the Mid-South.

It will be a challenge going to Huey’s and eschewing the cheddar on their delicious veggie burger. I may cry on the inside when my dad takes me to Memphis Pizza Cafe, and I cannot order the Ultimate Cheese. My soul will yearn for the feta block on that Castriati Salad at The Villa.

How am I going to survive this sadistic challenge?

Oh, there’s a blog on the internet focused on the exact thing I’ve got a question about? SWEET.

vegan crunk

So Bianca is an 18-year vegetarian and 8-year vegan who has this fabulous vegan food blog set in Memphis.

The best part about her blog is that she’s got a crunkalicious Memphis restaurant guide for vegans. #internetwin

Whoop that rack-of-ribs! Grit and Grind (on vegetables.) Wish me luck! I’ll let you know how it goes.

(Go check out Bianca at vegancrunk.blogspot.com)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

