Poppin’ Pills: Vitamins and Supplements

Here’s the deal. We aren’t perfect. Even though we try, we can’t possibly ingest all the 13 essential vitamins required by the body to work properly with our modern eating habits. That’s why you need to take vitamins and supplements before you get sick and have to take horrible prescription pills for the rest of your miserable life.

IMG_6103

What I take:

  • Vegetarian Glucosamine MSM (Shellfish Free): 3 capsules
  • GNC Women’s Ultra Mega Active (Without Iron): 2 capsules
  • 5-HTP: 200 mg
  • BioSil: 1 capsule
  • GenEssentials Superfruit Oil 3-6-7-9 blend: 2 capsules
  • Vitamin C: 1000mg (at night)
  • Niacin (flushing): 500mg (at night)
  • Papaya Enzime: 3 tablets (only on the rare occasion my stomach is upset)
  • Enzyme Blend (vegetarian digestive enzyme): 1 capsule before every meal
  • Allegra D: 1 pill

What do they do?

Vegetarian Glucosamine: I’m constantly placing my body under stress by dancing and working out. I need a little help lubricating my hips and knees. The human body produces glucosamine naturally, and it is mainly found in the fluid around the joints. Glucosamine, as found in the human body, is one of the compounds required by the body to build and maintain tendons, cartilage, and ligaments.

Multivitamin Non-Iron (GNC’s Women’s Ultra Active): Multivitamins are for maintenance. Read this if you don’t understand why taking a multivitamin is necessary, especially for vegetarians. I don’t want iron in them because my blood work says my iron levels are fine. This is definitely one you need a doctor to determine.

5-HTP: I’d research this on your own if you are thinking about taking it. There may be some risks, but I have been using it successfully for years. 5-HTP is a mood enhancer. It works by stimulating serotonin production in the brain. 5-HTP is used for several diseases where serotonin is believed to play an important role including depression, insomnia, obesity, and many other conditions. If you are attempting to break your cycle of addiction with white flour and simple carbs, 5-HTP can help.

BioSil: Keeps hair, skin, and nails strong and happy. Biosil has three main components that help it work: collagen, elastin, and keratin. The collagen helps to reduce lines and wrinkles and gives the skin a more youthful appearance. It also keeps future wrinkles from appearing. Keratin is a protein found in the hair follicles that helps keep hair strong and thick. It can also help keep nails strong and healthy. Elastin gives skin and hair the ability to “bounce back” from injury and age.

Vegetarian Fish Oil (GenEssentials Superfruit Oil 3-6-7-9 blend): Essential fatty acids are important. We have to ingest them because our bodies won’t produce them on their own. There are some people who do not like the product I use because it contains Omega 6 (which causes inflammation while Omega 3 decreases inflammation.) However, I believe we need both Omega 6 and 3 in the proper ratio for our bodies to work efficiently. This supplement is fine if you don’t use corn or canola oil while cooking and don’t eat fried food. Arachidonic Acid is a kind of Omega 6 polyunsaturated fatty acid that is necessary for muscle production.

Enormous amount Vitamin C: All animals (except for primates) create their own Vitamin C. Humans and monkeys have to ingest it through diet. According to Dr. Thomas E. Levy’s book “Curing the Incurable: Vitamin C, Infectious Diseases, and Toxins,” the recommended dosage (60mg) of Vitamin C can prevent scurvy, but that’s about it. Now, seeing as I’m not a pirate and have more to worry about than “the limeys,” We need to take about 3-5 GRAMS of Vitamin C a day. I’m working up to it (I take an extra gram at night.) Read Dr. Levy’s book. Interveinous and intramuscular injections of Vitamin C have been clinically proven to cure acute viral diseases such as polio, acute hepatitis, measles, mumps, chickenpox, shingles, and viral encephalitis. There’s even talk of it being a viable cure to cancer. Amazing!

Niacin (flushing): Niacin is a really cool supplement, but you need to build up a tolerance for it… especially if you plan on using the flushing variety. It lowers bad cholesterol and increases good. It turns carbs into energy. It can help stop diabetes. It helps your joints. It lowers stress (many say it’s like having a glass of wine.) It also makes my skin look and feel amazing, which is where the “flush” thing comes in. When you take it, the capillaries in your skin will dilate, and you will turn bright red for about 30 minutes. You will look very scary, which is why I take it at night and let it work while I’m asleep. Who needs expensive skin creams and anti-aging formulas when you can just pop a niacin at night? Warning: The non-flushing Niacin does not contain one of the major active components, nicotinic acid. It will not give you all the benefits.

Papaya Enzyme: It is a stomach aid. You can take a lot of it, all day long. It breaks down certain foods in the stomach and can prevent colon cancer. It can also be used to treat sport injuries (How? I’m not sure. But it’s a listed benefit.) Extra bonus: it tastes really good.

Digestive Enzyme: These aid in the absorption of nutrients. If you’re going to eat like a health rock-star, you want to ensure your body gets the full benefit. As listed above, you take one before every healthy meal. Which are all of your meals, right?

Allegra D: ‘Cause I got allergies, yo.

Bottom Line: Why not pop some pills during the day to help you be all that you can be? And by pills, I mean vitamins. Not crack. Crack comes in pill form, right? Heck, I don’t know. Take your vitamins!

Question: What vitamins/supplements do YOU take? Leave a comment!

I am not a doctor. I am not recommending that you take exactly what I take. I am reporting what works for me. Do your own research on what may work best for you.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Poppin’ Pills: Vitamins and Supplements

  1. Sumona Roy says:

    Hey Whitney!
    I just started following your blog and I love it! I was just wondering where you purchase all your supplements. I want to def try that Niacin!

    • Hey, Sumona! I get as many as I can from GNC because I have the discount card. It’s a good program; check it out! But a lot of the vegetarian options (the essential oils rather than ordinary fish oil and the vegetarian glucosamine, for example) I have to find at Whole Foods. Duane Reade has a lot of this stuff (they will have niacin.) Thanks for reading!

  2. Ken Taylor says:

    The only pills I pop are fish oil w/ krill and a daily multivitamin. But on top of that, I do 3-4 drops of Oil of Oregano under my tongue for allergies, a scoop of wheat grass powder mixed in water to help me stay alkaline, and if my cords are swollen, a few drops of liquid turmeric act as a great anti inflammatory (#vocalcoachproblems). …Oh yeah, and for stress, a glass of red 😉

Leave a Reply

