Super Fun “Turbo Jam Fat Blaster” Time

So, it ends up that I am unfortunately sore from my first spinning class. Not in a good “I really feel my quads and glutes” way. In a “I KNEW that seat was doing damage” way.

I was running low on energy and time, so I decided to pop on my old faithful: Turbo Jam Fat Blaster.

This is Chalene and the crew from "Turbo Jam: Fat Blaster." As you do it over the years, as I have done, you'll get to know "Take it Easy" Mindy, Fierce Tranny in the Back, and The Gloved Latin Lover.

This is Chalene and the crew from “Turbo Jam: Fat Blaster.” As you do it over the years, as I have done, you’ll get to know “Take it Easy” Mindy, Fierce Tranny in the Back, and The Gloved Latin Lover.

“Turbo Jam” is a workout series created by Chalene Johnson. It’s a mix of kickboxing, dance, and martial arts (think Tae Bo to warm up, Tai Chi to cool-down.) It claims to burn around 1,000 calories an hour if you are performing the high-impact moves. There are 5 different workouts, but I’m particular to the “Fat Blaster” 30 minute session. It utilizes four high-intensity intervals to really make you sweat.

Chalene has a new workout series called “Turbo Fire” that I’m looking forward to trying someday, but for now, the original Jam will suffice.

 

weighted wrist wrap work-out. (whoa, forty points for alliteration!)

weighted wrist wrap work-out. (whoa, forty points for alliteration!)

I’ve been using the “Fat Blaster” workout for a long time now, so this year I’ve started to add weighted hand wraps to add a little extra sculpting and plyometric resistance.

The Pros:

  • It’s not difficult to motivate yourself into taking a 30 minute class from home
  • It’s fun
  • There’s enough kickboxing influence to make it feel like you’re really getting an efficient arm workout.
  • There’s enough kickboxing influence to work out some aggression (I envision punching people who carry golf umbrellas in NYC when it rains. #rude)
  •  The plyometrics ups the cardio while I also work on healthy landings (I’m particularly interested in landings since I’m a dancer.)
  • The music and moves are just cheesy enough to make fun of. My old roommate and I would constantly comment and laugh at the video while working out to it. Honestly, it made it more fun.
  • The music and moves are just cheesy enough to do alone in all seriousness. Honestly, it makes it more fun.
  • I’m a big fan of working out in intervals
  • It’s short, so you can use it alone in a rush or combine it with something else to tone afterwards.
  • When I’m working in a remote location (i.e. that one time I was living on a riverboat for a month) it’s easy to load this on my computer and get a workout in a smaller space.

The Cons:

  • After doing it so many times, you begin to notice the mistakes in the video. It’s small things like sequence, direction, or side, but it’s enough to make me scream at the TV, “NO! THAT’S MY LEFT ARM, CHALENE!”
  • She stretches the hip-flexor in a way that isn’t completely holistic, but that’s a common mistake that everyone in the fitness/dance industry makes… until they have to have hip surgery, go to physical rehabilitation, and learn the proper way to stretch the hip.

The Bottom Line: It’s great. It got me up off my butt years ago when I was struggling with motivation. Can’t wait to try out “Turbo Fire.”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

