Zumba and Quad Fail.

In the Fall of 2012, I decided that instead of paying for Zumba classes, that I’d just get certified and teach them myself. I’ve taught hundreds of dance classes over the years, this would be a snap. I’d get a workout AND get paid. Totally brilliant, right?

That's me in the green, going through some toning sumo-squats in the middle of my Zumba class. This is the point in my class where I scream, "KNEES OVER TOES, LADIES!"

That’s me in the green, going through some toning sumo-squats in the middle of my Zumba class. This is the point in my class where I scream, “KNEES OVER TOES, LADIES!”

Ok, let me just say that preparing 60 minutes choreography that you are executing AND teaching AT THE SAME TIME is hard. Even for me. It was really hard getting my lesson-plan memorized to the point I could cue steps before the steps came up, while doing another step. And, I’ll admit, the first two full Zumba classes I taught were good but not amazing.

Now, I feel like I’ve hit my stride. My classes have gone from being an acceptable 55 minutes of cardio to being really good fun and a great workout. I feel like I’ve got a good mix of toning and heavy cardio.

I don’t have a regular class. I just substitute for M Dance and Fitness whenever they need me.

Yesterday, I taught a great class at Nola Studios in NYC. Unfortunately, I tore my left quad towards the beginning of class. I don’t remember the precise moment, but I definitely felt it stinging after a while. Due to the nature of the class, I just had to keep bouncing and twisting on it. My mind eventually started to ignore it (because there was no other option.)

Point being, there is no way to stretch out a ripped quad. It’s gotta be iced, compressed, tiger-balmed, and rested.

Therefore, today shall be an arm day! I just hope this thing heals up soon because skipping cardio and lower-body for too long will make me quite sad.Aykv6eKCUAEquwd.jpg-large

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

