No more diets.

Today is May 15th, 2013, and I have decided to stop dieting.

No more torture.

Simple.

No, really. It will be that simple.

I’ve got to de-program my mind from being brainwashed into thinking my behavior and body fat are acceptable to me. I’ve got to de-program my brain into thinking that drinking wine most nights actually makes me feel good or has any benefit to me at all. I’ve got to de-program my brain into thinking that processed foods are what I want to eat rather than natural vegetables, fruits, and nuts.

I deserve to feel amazing about myself. Everyone does.

If a scientist were to conduct a conditioning experiment with a worm in a maze, where one direction meant running into an electric shock and the other direction meant food, you know what would happen? The worm would learn through experience that food was this way and pain was the other. The worm wouldn’t want to do something again that hurt when another choice meant survival. I’d hypothesize that most animals put through this experiment would react in a similar way. So why, as human beings, do we continue to do things that cause us harm? Is it that we just don’t learn? Is it that we are dumb? No. It’s that we fool ourselves into thinking that things will be different this time. I’ll be better on the diet this time. I’ll keep going to the gym once I join this time. I’ll only drink on the weekends this time.

We set ourselves up for failure. Then we wallow in our misery with comfort food, toxins, and inactivity.

So, I’m going to get off the ride. I’m not going to diet. I’m just going to stop making bad choices. I’m going to stop looking for a quick-fix. I’m going to stop going on crash-diets followed by weight gain. I’m going to stop feeling guilty about my life.

Every time I reach for something that is detrimental to my health and happiness, I’m going to firmly tell myself that I can do better. That I deserve better.

I’m going to have fun, and I’m going to do it the right way.

I’ll set myself up for success by not setting myself up for failure. That means if I want to have wine or make a pizza (notice I said make… as in from scratch) then I’ll do it. The guilt-free part comes from not doing it often. Keeping it special makes it a reward and indulgence rather than something I’ll feel horrible about the next day.

No diets. Just good choices with some breathing room for fun.

That’s how I’m going to lose the weight and keep it off, and I’m going to have a damn good time doing it.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

